Wikipedia

Some people love it, and some people hate it. I love it. I use it so much, that it is even the page that loads up first when I open up my browser.

Anytime there is anything I don’t know and I’m curious to find out more about it, the first place I check is Wikipedia. Yes, even before google. There are obviously lots of Jews on wikipedia, because there is such a vast wealth of knowledge regarding Judaism. And a lot of it is right, too. I printed out the Three Weeks article and gave it to my teacher so that she’d understand my beard and not take off points for my presentation (part of our grade was professional attire).

I’ve used Wikipedia many times to help me get through school, but interestingly enough, I have found many articles that had completely wrong information. Which is why you have to take everything you read there with a grain of salt. This is especially true in articles documenting recent events, such as the Israel-Lebanon conflict. In the Israel-Lebanon example, there are lots of anti-Israel people out there who try to push their propaganda. Then of course there are people like me who push my propaganda material. With the two extremes, we usually get a pretty nice balance, which is pretty surprising in my opinion.

The articles I’ve contributed the most to are occupational therapy, activities of daily living, and sensory integration dysfunction. But I’ve made tons of minor edits as well, like adding the name of Potiphar’s wife (Zuleika), making sure that Moshe isn’t written as the seminal author of the Torah in the article on Noah’s Ark, and adding Rabbi Neuberger’s death in deaths on October 21.

It’s lots of fun once you get the hang of how to go about with your edits, and strongly recommend it.

Since we like to raise things up in Kedusha, I’ll say a quick vort on Wikipedia. For those of you who have made edits, you’re aware that no matter how many times an edit is made, a record of what was said originally and what was changed always remains. So if lets say I write some loshon hora by mistake on someone’s user page, but then regret it and erase it, all someone has to do is look at the history of the page, and it’ll be there. Our record is there for anyone to look at. So to when we die. When we do, all our mitzvos and aveirus (our contributions, in wiki speak) are put out in front of us to be seen by all. There is no hiding. We should hope that our contributions are only positive, and if we make enough positive contributions, may it lead to the coming of Mashiach, speedily, in our time. Amen.

4 Responses to “Wikipedia”

  1. AlanLaz Says:

    The only one I can claim as mine is this one, on Steve Buckhantz, the HORRIBLE play-by-play announcer for the Washington Wizards. My friends and I have a sort-of “We hate Steve Buckhantz” club: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_Buckhantz

  2. StepIma Says:

    I’ve only made one Wikipedia entry/edit (expanded a 2-line stub into a real entry… yay me!) and I have to say, it made me feel like a golden god…

    I won’t say what it was, because I sort of like the feeling that just maybe it will live on in perpetuity exactly the way I left it, but somewhere in the ephemera related to the Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy, is a little piece of knowledge with my stamp on it

    Meanwhile, did you see Steven Colbert’s piece on “wikiality” ?

  3. aishel Says:

    StepIma, that is hysterical! I looked up Elephant on wikipedia, and saw that it was in a protected state, and looking at its talk page, it mentions that its being protected because of the Colbert piece. Great stuff!

    I forgot to mention, that I also created the article on aishel 🙂

  4. Avromi Says:

    Take a moment please to look up daf yomi – youll be surprised at the resources.–>


Leave a Reply

