Sheitels

No, this isn’t your normal run-of-the-mill sheitel post. I’m not going to post about what kind of sheitel looks nicer than the other. I’m not going to post about whether or not shaitels are halachically ok (but that might be a future post).

I just have a simple question. When Jews go out in public with a shaitel on the mannequin head on the way to the sheitel macher, what thoughts go through the minds of non-Jews?

16 Responses to “Sheitels”

  1. SephardiLady Says:

    My guess is that it is a bit shocking. Most non-Jews/non-frum-Jews can’t recognize a sheitel when they see one. (Heck, some of us frummies are starting to get confused to).

  2. stam Says:

    shephardi- C’mon, most frummies know sheitles well enough that they can spot sheitles on movie stars!

    also a lot of goyim wear wigs… i won’t write any more detail on that on a public site, but i’m sure you get the idea… so many of them walk into sheitle stores off the street….

  3. aishel Says:

    The funniest thing was when I was going on an airplane, and we had an extra mannequin head (just the head, no shaitel) to carry, so I got stuck carrying it. Needless to say, I got lots of funny looks. One girl, who looked to be about five, was overheard asking her mom, “Mom, what is that for?” The mom replied, “maybe she’s an actress!”

    And just for the record, I consider myself to be good at recognizing shaitels from quite a distance. Although I have been wrong before.

  4. Jewboy Says:

    We men are brave to carry around those sheitels. I lost my guy card when I dropped off my wife’s sheitel and picked it up at L.A. Style. Reminds me of that Dr. Pepper commercial where the guy is willing to do all manner of feminine things for his girlfriend but won’t share his Dr. Pepper with her.

  5. Jack Davidov Says:

    My wife has a business of washing and setting sheitels (Aishel’s wife is a customer). My brother stayed over at our apartment and he was in the room with all the sheitel heads – he was majorly creeped out. Something about a severed head with pins sticking out of it is somewhat disturbing.

  6. SephardiLady Says:

    Stam, re-read: “Most non-Jews/non-frum Jews. . . .” As for me, I’ve been mistaken before. Recently, I’ve noticed a trend to pull the front of one’s own hair over the front of the sheitel. Before I realized this was a trend, I remember thinking one of the “frummies” in the park didn’t cover her hair and was curious why.

    Jack-Don’t ever put my husband in the room. He will have nightmares for life.

  7. aishel Says:

    Recently, I’ve noticed a trend to pull the front of one’s own hair over the front of the sheitel. Before I realized this was a trend, I remember thinking one of the “frummies” in the park didn’t cover her hair and was curious why.

    This is the one that still confuses the heck out of me. I was at a wedding once, and a woman was wearing her shaitel this way. I thought she wasn’t covering her hair until my wife, who was shmoozing with her told me, “isn’t that a cool way of doing a shaitel?” I didn’t believe her at first. It really looks natural!

  8. stam Says:

    well it’s not exactly so pashut with the pulling hair out in front… definitly something that a girl needs to discuss with her husband and her rav…

    speaking of sheitles, if anyone knows of a sheitle macher that is looking to hire, please let me know!!

  9. aishel Says:

    I’d just like to point out that its amazing how when guys get married, they can suddenly talk about shaitels. 😀

  10. stam Says:

    would you want to talk about sheitles at all??

  11. stam Says:

    *meaning, why are you looking for an excuse to talk about them? 🙂

  12. aishel Says:

    I brought some shaitels over to JewishCube’s house, and I just thought of this topic, that’s all 🙂

  13. stam Says:

    is jewishcube’s wife looking to hire…?

  14. Sara K Says:

    I can spot a shaitel even if hair is pulled into the front of it. It’s something we girls are born with 🙂

  15. Elise Says:

    Haha, I’ve always thought about that too.

  16. SephardiLady Says:

    I can spot a shaitel even if hair is pulled into the front of it. It’s something we girls are born with

    Oh no. I’ve given birth, but I might be short some female qualities. 🙂


Leave a Reply

