Non-Jews greeting Jews

Why is it that non-Jewish people see someone Jewish and they want to strike up a conversation, they start with “Shalom?”  I highly doubt that when they see a Muslim they say “saalam aleikum,” or when they see someone French, they say “Bonjour.”

Why are we special?

7 Responses to “Non-Jews greeting Jews”

  1. TikkunGer Says:

    Um, just part of being chosen I guess!

  2. AlanLaz Says:

    I got a “Ma Nishma” at the gas station today. He was Ethiopian and has alot of Jewish Ethiopian friends that speak Hebrew. When I saw his name tag said Solomon, I told him that he, himself, has a Jewish name. His reply: “I know, Shlomo.” I almost died of laughter.

  3. Sara K Says:

    I think non Jews are very proud when they know a Hebrew word…I get that all the time.

  4. Ozymandias Says:

    Usually they just bow to me.

  5. Greg Says:

    I think those are Jews. Non-orthodox Jews, especially older ones, like to show you that they are members of the tribe despite their non-outwardly-orthodox appearences.

  6. aishel Says:

    Greg, those people wait till Rosh Hashana so that they can say Shana Tova.

    I’m talking about totally non-Jewish people!

  7. HIla Says:

    I think a lot of people do it either because they are Jewish and non-orthodox like Greg said, or because the very little they were taught about Judaism in public school was limited to the word Shalom and Chanukkah being about “candles and playing with a dreidel.”

    Personally, I do greet people who speak another language in whatever language that happens to be, if I know the way to do so (Bonjour, Hola, Konnichi Wa). Maybe it’s a bit cheesy to some people, but to me I like it when people try to use what little they might know about my native language (Swedish). It shows that they are at least somewhat interested in your cultural background. But maybe that’s just me.

    Hila


Leave a Reply

