Uneducated Graduate Students

This is my first post using the Performancing Firefox extension, so hopefully it’ll come out OK.

I’m taking an elective from a different discipline than occupational therapy (OT), and I’ve found several differences.  The one that stands out the most, however, is the lack of ability for people to give a presentation and give out handouts without mistakes.  There are 4 OT students in this class, and it has come to the point where we make it into a game to see just how many mistakes we can find.  For example, last week, one guy was giving his presentation on a case study from a textbook.  In his four-page handout, I counted 28 mistakes that should have been very obvious had he only looked it over one time.  I mean, how can someone confuse ‘foreman’ with ‘foramen?’

If this was happening to only one or two people, I would be able to understand it, but when it happens as consistently as its been happening, something is wrong.  Anyone who is in a 600’s level graduate course should know basic spelling and grammar.  The fact that in one night I found over 20 mistakes on two separate handouts from two people says that something is wrong.  I know that if I were to hand in a paper with that many mistakes in the OT department, it would be returned to me by the teacher.  If I was the teacher, I’d return it.  I don’t know if our writing is just that good (I doubt it), or if their writing is just that bad.  It’s scary to think that these people will be healthcare managers.

Posted in School. 6 Comments »

6 Responses to “Uneducated Graduate Students”

  1. Ariella Says:

    “If I was the teacher, Iā€™d return it.”
    Can you catch your own error in this sentence? To remember, think of a famous song in “Fiddler on the Roof”

  2. aishel Says:

    I don’t know any songs on the Fiddler on the Roof, but I would have to guess that the problem is that I ended my sentence with the word “it.” Oh, and I should have used ‘were’ instead of ‘was.’ It should say, “If I were the teacher, I’d return the paper.”

    But hey, this is a blog, not a paper I’m turning in šŸ˜›

  3. Ariella Says:

    The latter. Tevye sings “If I were a rich man. . . ” not “If I was”
    Fiddler on the Roof is classic. But, of course, I can listen to musicals without any kolisha problems. šŸ˜‰

  4. dreamer123 Says:

    it is a serious problem facing high school and college students.

    one of the major issues is the lack of ability to self edit. many just hand in papers without checking them over.

    i believe the rambam said that before one publishes anything, one should recheck it 1,000 times over.
    i would settle for three or four. eve that’s better than nothing.

    if you can’t edit your own paper, at least hand it to a friend to do so. i used to edit many a paper while my friends were attending college.

  5. CPA Says:

    Hmm maybe I should install Firefox, looks interesting. Too bad about the editing but what can you do?

  6. LN Says:

    Completely unrelated, but I think I’d like it better if links opened up in a new tab rather than in the same one šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

