Black Friday overachievers

I was reading this story in the news today:

Two armed thugs tried to rob of line of people waiting to buy the new Playstation 3 gaming console early Friday and shot one who refused to give up the money, authorities said.

The two confronted a “bunch of people who were in line” outside a Wal-Mart store shortly after 3 a.m. and demanded money, said Lt. J. Paul Vance, a spokesman for the state police. The new Sony consoles are selling for around $500 to $600.

“One of the patron’s resisted. That patron was shot,” Vance said.

I just posted yesterday about the Thanksgiving day sales and all the deals, and I know that this is the type of stuff that happens on Black Friday. I think its insane. If there’s a great sale, I’ll admit, I’ll be there at 6am. But if it comes to pushing, shoving, and now shooting, forget about it, I’m not interested. I’ve heard only great things about the Playstation 3 (except for the price tag), but to get in line at 3am just to be able to say that “I had it first” seems extreme to me.

As a rabbi in Detroit once told me a few Thanksgivings ago, upon completion of a masechta (tractate), we say in the Hadran, “She’anu mashkimim v’heim mashkimim. Anu mashkimim l’divrei torah, v’heim mashkimim l’devarim biteilim…Anu ratzim v’hem ratzim. Anu ratzim l’chayei haolam habah, v’heim ratzim l’b’air shachas.” – We wake up early and they wake up early. We wake up early to learn for words of torah, and they wake up early for idle words….We run and they run. We run to the life of the Next World, and they run to the well of destruction. (I’ve got to figure out how to type in Hebrew)

Like I said above, I’d get up early if there was a great deal (which I might be doing this year…I need blank CD-R’s). I’m just complaining about the Black Friday overachievers.

3 Responses to “Black Friday overachievers”

  1. BOTS member Says:

    I think the Black Friday deals are over-hyped. They are usually great deals, but often you can find the same products for the same or very similar prices the rest of the holiday shopping season. It’s just that the day after thanksgiving is the first day to buy these items at their new, reduced price. I remember (I think it was last year) seeing the ads for a lot of cheap electronics (DVD players, VCR’s, etc…) and thinking those were great deals. But, those prices stuck through christmas.

    I think good deals can be found (I did buy a computer 2 years ago), but the whole thing is more hype than substance.

    Also, forget Best Buy. The line is ridiculous. I went to Office Depot on Reisterstown Rd. and there was a very short line before 6AM.

  2. Rachel Says:

    That’s so beautiful bro!!!

  3. Malnurtured Snay Says:

    I don’t think the incident from above happened on Black Friday — the Playstation 3 had a release the previous week, and people were camping out all night ot get the system when the stores opened at their regular time. (And, I apologize if I’m wrong, but if this did happen on Black Friday, it also happened when the PS3 came out, in Connecticut, some folks waiting in line were shot).


Leave a Reply

