Tipping the mailman; yes or no?

Do you typically tip your mailman?  Please discuss in the comments.

This is carryover from my previous post where Lanie asks:

I thought that mail men aren’t allowed to accept cash gifts. Is that wrong?

Posted in Advice. 6 Comments »

6 Responses to “Tipping the mailman; yes or no?”

  1. LN Says:

    I never would think of tipping the mailman. I have left hot chocolate on a cold day or cold lemonade on a hot day, but never a monetary gift.

  2. anon Says:

    If you tip Thom, he will put a nice thank you card in your mailbox the following day. 🙂

  3. nyfunnyman Says:

    it is illegal for them to accept any money

  4. peninah Says:

    I have to be honest, I wouldn’t know our mailman if I fell over him/her. We seem to be in an ever changing postal carrier (the PC term) rotation. Therefore, I don’t tip our letter carriers (another PC term I think).

  5. aishel Says:

    It’s interesting hearing all these comments, because growing up, we ALWAYS used to tip out mailman. Are gift cards considered money? I gave him a gift card to Barnes and Noble.

  6. SaraK Says:

    I always leave a small gift for our mail carrier (it’s usually the non-kosher holiday gift I get from work or something like that).


Leave a Reply

