Brasserie

Anyone who has known me for a little bit knows that today is a special day.  So to celebrate, we went to the Brasserie.  I’m always amazed at just how quickly the total can go up, but I guess that’s just the nature of the restaurant.  The point of this post is to rant about certain people and talk about the service I experienced at the Brasserie.

First, I don’t care how important you are in the city.  If you must have your phone on, please, just turn it to vibrate.  When you’re trying to have a quiet dinner, it just isn’t fun to have to hear  some crazy song at the loudest possible volume.  Seven times.  And I don’t blame him for having his phone on.  In his capacity, he needs to have his phone on.  But I don’t think there are any phones out there that don’t have a vibrating feature.  So please, just turn it to vibrate.

When we got to the Brasserie, the place was completely empty except for one other couple that against the back windows.  So where did the waiter place us?  At the table right next to them.  I mean, the entire room was empty!  Did he have to put us right there?  Of course we asked him for a more private table, so we were put on the complete opposite side of the room, which was fine by me.   The only other issue I had with the service was regarding my water.  I like to have my glass filled with water.  I drink a lot, and I felt that the waiter should have been more on top of my glass.  Especially considering how empty it was tonight.  At one point, I had to ask him three times to get my water until he finally remembered to actually bring it.  I found that instead of paying even a little attention to my table, he was joking around with the kitchen staff.  I’m not trying to sound like a needy brat, but I do feel that the service could have been a bit better.

Regarding the food, we got an interesting appetizer called medallion of beef, which was three cubes of beef served with fried onions and two pieces of very large corn tortilla’s.  While the beef cubes were very good, I felt that the tortilla’s were awful.  Overall, definitely not worth the $14.95.  For the main course, the only complaint I had was that the ribs had way too much fat on them.  Probably a good 20% of all the meat had fat that had to be removed.  But otherwise, they were awesome.

7 Responses to “Brasserie”

  1. stam Says:

    well mazel tov anyway 🙂

  2. Rachel Says:

    goodness! do you go out LOOKING for things to criticize so you can write it on your blog??

  3. peninah Says:

    Mazel Tov!
    I will say these few things about the Brasserie. Number one, for the most part, I like their food. I have never been dissapointed with it (especially the flounder stuffed with imitation crab meat- yum yum, and the number 15- Fettuchini with eggplant, sundried tomato, mushrooms, and chicken).
    But the service is variable. Sometimes you can have outstanding service, sometimes horrible. A few months ago it was horrible. We waited 45 minutes for there just to be silverware on our table. Ironically as we were leaving the owner said to Greg, “I am sorry about the service tonight but please don’t blog about it.” (He didn’t and will probably kill me for posting that)

    The thing is that the Bra (as we like to call it in our home) is the closest thing we have to a nice restaurant in B-more. It is a shame that you can’t always rely on it to be an excellent dining experience- especially because it is not cheap.

  4. de'artist Says:

    There used to be a waiter there that looked similar to, and had the same exact mannerisms as one of the geeks from the show “Malcome in the Middle.” Whenever we went, my sister would point it out to me, and we would start cracking up every time he served us. – It was quite embarrassing.

  5. aishel Says:

    Rachel, what other purpose in life is there?

  6. SephardiLady Says:

    You blog is turning into a resturant review I see. 🙂

  7. BOTS member Says:

    I like brasserie, but it does take a long time to be waited on. I would just reduce the tip.


Leave a Reply

