Parking Ticket follow up

While I’m writing follow up posts, here’s a follow up on the parking ticket that I got.  First of all, thank you Dreamer for the link that showed me where I could fight the ticket online.  Turns out that it was good that I fought the ticket online, as I got a notice in the mail saying that my fine has been reduced to $40, instead of the original $60.  Additionally, the letter stated that I have the option of ignoring the notice, and get a full hearing.  The catch is that if they find me guilty,  I get charged the full $60.  However, if I’m found to be not guilty, then I don’t have to pay a thing.  Kind of a double or nothing.

So now the question is, what do I do?  Do I take the gamble and hope I don’t have to pay anything?  Or should I be relieved that I got a reduction in the first place and just pay the $40?  In any case, this shows that one has nothing to lose by appealing your parking ticket online.

Posted in Advice. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Parking Ticket follow up”

  1. dreamer123 Says:

    When I fought my ticket online (twas a $115 one!) they gave me a $25 dollar reduction or the choice to fight. My dad said to fight just for the heck of it, and I lost and paid full price.
    I think they automatically give you off when you write in, but unless you have conclusive proof that you’re innocent, i’d say keep the reduction and pay. It’s not points anyway, is it?


Leave a Reply

