Switching to Cavalier Telephone

As I mentioned in my post about switching to Cavalier DSL, I was very happy with my new Internet speeds, as they had easily tripled.  However, switching to Cavalier telephone wasn’t as smooth.  While I’m very happy with it now, there were a few bumps in the road when I first started.

I had switched over to Cavalier the weekend before Pesach, and I then went away for the entire week.  When I returned home, I saw that we had over 15 missed calls and 7 phone messages.  Each and every single one of them was from a “courtesy” call.  One of the messages left some kind of clue regarding why I was getting so many courtesy calls.  It was Verizon’s business directory leaving a message saying that they were unclear how to place our name in the directory in terms of business category.  I left the guy a long, nasty message saying that I’m absolutely NOT a business customer, and that I have no idea why I’m getting so many courtesy calls.  I also sent an email to Cavalier complaining about how I switch to Cavalier, and I suddenly get all these courtesy calls (yes, I’m on the Do Not Call list).  Their reply was predictable:

I am unsure as to why you have been experiencing these calls.  Your account is set up as a residential account and Cavalier does not sell our customers’ information.

Mysteriously, after this email, however, I stopped getting courtesy calls.  So I’m not sure whats up with that.

The second thing that bothers me about Cavaliers telephone service is their voice mail.  While listening to all those courtesy calls, I wanted to delete the message while it was playing so that I wouldn’t have to hear the whole thing.  However, the way their system works, you can’t delete a message while it is in the middle of playing.    You can fast forward messages, but thats about it.  Who ever heard of such a thing?

The third and final thing that is annoying is their Caller ID.  Verizon must have some kind of exclusive Caller ID list and isn’t sharing it because many of the phone calls I now get show Caller ID’s of either old people who had those phone numbers or no information at all.  For example, when I used to call my house, my full name would appear.  Now, it just says ‘Cellphone  MD.’  Luckily,  they have a page on their website where you can customize Caller ID’s, and once you enter it into the database, it will show up on your phone within a day or two.  A minor inconvenience, but its cool that you can customize how it will look on your phone.

So overall,  I’m happy with my new phone and Internet services.  The DSL is really great, and the phone was only annoying the first week or two.  After hearing about my fast Internet speeds, my dad decided he wanted to jump on the bandwagon.  Because he hosts his own domain and server from home and he connects to his office from home, it is important for him to have fast Internet.  He made the switch, and also noted a great increase in his Internet speed.  However, he also got the one week of telemarketers which mysteriously went away after speaking to Cavalier about the problem.

The great thing is that since I referred him to Cavalier, each of us get a $25 Visa debit card as a referral award.  So if anyone wants to get in on this deal, let me know, and we can each get $25.

3 Responses to “Switching to Cavalier Telephone”

  1. Shelley Says:

    Re: voicemail–
    If you press 33 while the message is playing, it will skip to the end. You can then press 7 to delete it.

  2. John Says:

    If you get more calls that sound like they should be on the do not call me list, plug them into http://www.nocallerid.com and see who called. Then report them (the caller) to the proper channels.

  3. Roman Dykyj Says:

    Are you still with Cavalier Internet? If so, can you give me your name and phone number and I will submit it for a referral (I get 30% off and you get $25). Thanks, Roman


Leave a Reply

