Switching to Cavalier DSL

For about a year and a half, I had been using Verizon‘s DSL service, along with Verizon local phone service. With this plan, I was paying approximately $34.95 per month for local and regional phone service (we use cell phones for long distance), along with several calling features. Additionally, I was paying $14.95 per month for my DSL (for the first year; it was $17.95/month thereafter), which gave me maximum speeds of 768k down/128k up. While this was admittedly slow, it was really all we needed.

In the last several months, we were considering upgrading our Internet speeds. One suggestion we got was to go with VOIP. The problem, however, was that we heard too many negatives about VOIP to be able to strongly consider it. The usual complaint with VOIP was the frequent internet downtimes and subsequent phone downtimes.

I then heard an ad on the radio for Cavalier Telephone. They promised speeds up to 10mbps for the low price of $25 per month. That was more than what I was paying, so I was reluctant to do anything about it. But then I noticed that their local calling plans were a full $10 less than Verizon, at only $25 per month. That meant that if I switched to Cavalier, I’d pay the exact same amount (before taxes), but get much faster Internet service.

The problem was that we were told that we were a full 17,900 feet away from the Central Office (CO). Cavalier told me that the maximum distance they provide DSL service to is 18,000 feet. Because I was so far away, they said that I probably wouldn’t get speeds of faster than 1mbps. However, they did tell me that they use Verizon’s phone lines to provide DSL service. After speaking with Verizon, they told me that they could guarantee up up to 3mbps.

At this point, I figured I had nothing to lose. Worse comes to worse, I’d have the same speeds as before, and I’d be paying the same prices. So I made the switch.

My service with Cavalier began exactly 8 days later, and after only a minor glitch, which they corrected over the phone, I was online. At a solid 3.4 mbps. Sweet. While that was pretty much the highest speed I attained, I do check my speeds every once in a while, and I average between 1.9 and 2.3mpbs down, and 400k up. As you can see, this is a tremendous difference. I have not experienced any down times since I began service (right before Pesach), and when I watch video’s on YouTube, they actually load to completion without me having to wait for the videos to buffer constantly. I’ve been very happy.

I did, however, have some problems with my phone service, but that will be in my next post, as this one is getting long.

6 Responses to “Switching to Cavalier DSL”

  1. Greg Says:

    Which location are you measuring against? I’ve got Comcast, and get 6mb up/400kbs down…for the DC one…but all the others, I get similar to what you reported. And I’m paying a lot more.

  2. aishel Says:

    I’m measuring to DC. But 6mbps is awesome. Wow. I guess you get what you pay for 🙂

  3. A.G. Says:

    There are offers on TV and radio for $24.95 local and $14.00 DSL but when I dail the 1-866-4CAVTEL it asks for a code then it hangs up. They have to be losing plenty of business like this. Can you help?

  4. aishel Says:

    Try this number:
    (866) 290-4200

  5. John Says:

    Right now you can get both phone and internet service (the High Speed Internet at up to 8bmps for 50 a month.
    That includes unlimited local and long distance phone!
    Just check it out online at http://www.cavtel.com


Leave a comment